LibGuides: FTS: Visual Culture: Start

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library!

This guide contains resources to help you find and evaluate sources, as well as general information about using the Library. Take some time to wander the space, get to know various study areas and browse our books, movies and magazines. Don't hesitate to ask at the Library's Information Desk if you have any questions - or send me an email. My contact information is below my picture and I love hearing from students.

You can also find links to information like library hours and circulations policies (like how long you can check out books), as well as a bunch of other information on the Library's main page. Please explore the website just like you will explore the building itself.

Gah! I need help!

Research can be both exciting and frustrating. Fortunately, there are lots of people on campus who can help.

Check with your professor if you aren't sure how to approach your assignment or want a second opinion on sources and strategies.
Stop by the Writing Center at any point during the process for expert advice from your talented peers.
The Academic Support Center can help with issues such as time management and organization.
Connect with librarians for any and all research questions. There are many ways to get in touch with us.

You can always email Julie with any questions or to schedule a meeting. I'm happy to help with any and all of your research questions. Or if you just want to chat about your topic & create a strategy for searching, we can do that, too.

Finding Books

To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage.

When you find books that look useful, write down the Location & the Call Number.

General Collection, call numbers A - PQ are on the Third Floor

General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side

Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side

Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance

Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First Floor

AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First Floor

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library).

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.

You can check books out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc.

Finding Articles

To find articles, try these databases, which will connect you with all kinds of sources. Use the Search Tips tab above for pointers on how to search databases efficiently. You will probably find a lot of information (but sometimes you find no information!). Be persistent, try various search terms, and above all, ask for help if you're stuck. Send me (Julie) an email with any questions or to set up a time to meet.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, with coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview, a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."

Once you've found some articles, you'll probably want to narrow down your results. You can always add additional terms to your search to narrow the focus. Use the Search Tips tab at the top of this guide for tips.

Newspapers are good for very specific news items or recent events.
Magazine articles reflect a popular approach to issues and are often short and simple in style.
Articles in academic journals report on research and are sometimes quite long and complex. Concentrate on the abstract (a one-paragraph summary that sometimes is at the beginning of the article), the introduction, and the last paragraphs.

When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two. Consult the Tracking Down Materials tab for more information.