Research Guides: HIS 350: South Africa and Apartheid: Newspapers and Web-Based Sources

Newspapers

Current and Historical US Newspapers

New York Times Historical

The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Gustavian Weekly (newspaper) (1891-May 2021)

Searchable full text and pdf page images of the Gustavus Adolphus College newspaper. Issues from January 1891 through May 2021 are digitally archived here. This site also searches the Gustavian yearbook (1904-2015). More recent print editions of the newspaper are retained in both the library and archives.

South Africa, Primary Sources, Online

African Activist Archive Project (South Africa)
artifacts, and written and oral memories - of 50 years of activist organizing in the United States in solidarity with African struggles against colonialism, apartheid, and injustice. This is a "people's archive" focused primarily on local organizations in the U.S. that supported African struggles against colonialism and white minority rule. We also include materials from national organizations that provided research, educational and organizing materials, and some reporting about these local community and campus groups.
South African History Online (South Africa)
SAHO’s mission is “to break the silence of our past and to create the most comprehensive online encyclopedia of South African history and culture. SAHO has committed itself to involve heritage and academic institutions as well as ordinary South Africans in rewriting our history and in that way contributing to reconciliation, the building of a common humanity and a non-racial, non-sexist, and democratic society.”
Library of Congress (United States)
The Library of Congress's mission is to engage, inspire, and inform Congress and the American people with a universal and enduring source of knowledge and creativity. Our vision is that all Americans are connected to the Library of Congress. Our websites offer public access to a wide range of information, including historical materials that are products of their particular times, and may contain offensive language or negative stereotypes.