Student Resources - Stay Connected to the Library - No Matter Where You Are

Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries (Interlibrary Loan - ILL)

Requests for articles, chapters, and other copies are being filled like normal.
Requests for loans of physical items are still somewhat limited – we appreciate your patience and ask that you observe a temporary limit of 10 active ILLs at a time.
Please expect delays (even for copies). Staffing levels at institutions across the country are still varied and will continue to be fluid in the months ahead.
E-books are not available via ILL; we can obtain the print version or we can request a few sections to be copied for you.
Physical items can be picked up at the Information Desk in the library; contactless pick-up is available for those that request it.
ILLs you no longer need can be returned to the Information Desk in the library or via the library’s book drop in the foyer.
Please request renewals on materials promptly - you'll receive email notices to remind you.
Email Sonja Timmerman (stimmer2@gustavus.edu) with any ILL questions.

Librarians

Reference Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

507-933-7567

Access to Physical Materials from the Library

Services for immunocompromised patrons or those unable to come to campus:

For those patrons who are unable to come into the building, the Library may be able to provide contactless pickup and/or scanned copies of articles or book chapters upon request. This online tutorial explains these services in more detail.

Articles in Journals

Library Databases:
Many full text e-journals are available in our library databases.
For databases in your subject area, visit the Library's Research Guides and Articles & Databases menus.

E-books

Note: Be sure to test your access to a particular e-book before you incorporate it into your research or teaching.

Search the library catalog for your topic and limit your results as follows: Refine this Search > Source Type > Book > eBook

Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
A compilation of primary source documents, books, and images. Search by author, topic, or event.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of eBooks in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, and more. eBooks in this collection can be viewed on a web browser or on the EBSCO mobile app (available from the iTunes App Store and Google Play). Note: to download ebooks on the mobile app, you must be signed into the app with your EBSCO personal account. Questions? Just ask a librarian!
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
National Emergency Library This link opens in a new window
As of June 16, 2020, books in the National Emergency Library are available to ONE BORROWER AT A TIME using controlled digital lending. (This collection supported emergency remote teaching and research activities while colleges and universities went online in Spring 2020.)
Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota) This link opens in a new window
Springer Open Access Books This link opens in a new window

Streaming Music and Dance

Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
This growing collection of streaming jazz currently includes approximately over 5,800 albums and more than 68,800 tracks.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
NML is an online classical music library. It also includes some jazz, film music, world music, and contemporary rock content. NOTES: A maximum of 10 people can use the Naxos Music Library at one time. Safari users may need to disable content blockers for this site.
Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
This large collection includes a variety of music and dance content, including classical scores; classical music in video; American, jazz, and world music; dance in video, and more.

Ask Us!

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)

Getting Started

Not sure where to begin? Try the Library's:

Research Guides. The Library's research guides (http://libguides.gustavus.edu) and Articles & Databases menus contain links to many online resources.
Quick Answers guide. The Quick Answers guide (https://libguides.gustavus.edu/quickanswers) offers information on finding different types of sources, accessing library databases from off-campus, how to cite sources, and more.
Video tutorials. The Library's YouTube channel contains several video tutorials with step-by-step directions on how to search for books in the online catalog, distinguish between popular & scholarly sources, request materials from other libraries, and more.

Library Hours

During spring semester:

Monday-Thursday: 8:00 am - 12:00 am (midnight)
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm (noon) - 5:00 pm
Sunday 12:00 pm (noon) - 12:00 am (midnight)

Please check the Library's homepage for updates or changes.

Trouble with Library Access?

Having trouble with your library account? Contact us for help:

Call the library during business hours (Information Desk: 507-933-7558)
E-mail e-resources@gustavus.edu

We can usually address your problem more quickly if you provide the following information:

Your name
Your e-mail address
What resource you are attempting to access (a specific database, online journal, etc.)
What problem (error message, etc.) you're encountering
What operating system (Mac, Windows) and what browser you're using

Stay Connected to the Library - No Matter Where You Are