Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 011. Logan, Rufus. Papers of Rufus Logan, 1939-1972: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Logan, Rufus.  Papers of Rufus Logan, 1939-1972.  CAMC Collection 11.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The Rufus Logan collection contains lectures and speeches, correspondence, sermons, press releases, policies, and military yearbooks.  These materials cover his academic career, military service, and public service.  Logan was a professor of Economics at Gustavus Adolphus College from 1939-74 and Minnesota Tax Commissioner from 1967-71.

Biographical Note

Rufus Logan was born on 11 January 1902 and received his bachelor’s degree in Economics from St. Olaf College in 1926.  Logan married Marion Youngquist in 1932 after meeting her at Alexander High School.  He taught at Spring Valley High School and Alexander High School before joining the economics department at Gustavus Adolphus College in 1939.  His teaching career was interrupted by World War II when Logan served in the Army in Texas and New York.  After returning to Gustavus he was selected by the Board of Trustees to be Vice President in 1952 and he served in this post until 1960.  In 1957 he traveled to Indonesia to help Nommensen University set up an economics department.  This two year project was funded by the Ford Foundation.  In 1967 Logan took a leave from Gustavus after Governor Harold LeVander appointed him as Minnesota Tax Commissioner.  He served in that post until 1971.  In 1971 he traveled to Bogota, Columbia as part of the Executive Service Corps to help a school there with their Economics department.  Logan retired from teaching in 1974.  Logan passed away in St. Peter, Minnesota on 28 November 1996.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four sections: Military Service; Professor of Economics; Tax Commissioner; and Miscellaneous.

Military Service, 1924-1945 holds an instructor handbook and three flying school yearbooks from Logan’s time in the Army Air Corps.

Professor of Economics, 1939-1966 consists of chapel talks, lectures, speeches, radio addresses, and retirement plan statements from Logan’s time as an Economics professor at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Tax Commissioner, 1962-1970 contains correspondence, meeting information, policies, press releases, and speeches from Logan’s time as Minnesota Tax Commissioner.

Miscellaneous, 1940-1972 has biographical information, addresses, speeches, and sermons, papers written as a student, and information related to foreign universities that Logan helped.  This section spans his multiple careers.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License