Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 012. Granlund, Paul T. Collection of Paul T. Granlund, 1945-2006: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Granlund, Paul T.  Collection of Paul T. Granlund, 1945-2006.  CAMC Collection 12.  8 Records Center Cartons, ½ Hollinger box, and 1 flat box.

Abstract:
The Collection of Paul T. Granlund contains correspondence, articles, clippings, photographs, negatives, and slides regarding his artwork, shows, and commissions.  Granlund worked primarily with bronze.  He created more than 650 different works during his 50-year career.  He created both large and small-scale sculptures which can be found in colleges, hospitals, churches, etc. in the United States and internationally.  Granlund was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota and graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1952.  After further study and teaching, he returned to Gustavus and served as an artist in residence from 1971-96.  Over thirty of his sculptures can be found on campus.

Biographical Note

Paul Theodore Granlund was born 6 October 1925 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Granlund graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1952.  Following his undergraduate degree, he attended the University of Minnesota and Cranbrook Academy of Art in Michigan.  Granlund earned his Master of Fine Arts degree from Cranbrook in 1954.  After graduation, he studied in Italy under a Fulbright Award during 1954-55 and returned in 1957 as a Guggenheim Fellow in Creative Sculpture.  Granlund served as head of the sculpture department at the Minneapolis School of Art from 1955-67.  Granlund returned to Gustavus as a full-time artist in residence during autumn 1971.  He remained in this position until his retirement in 1996.  Paul Granlund died 15 September 2003.

Scope and Content

The Granlund collection consists of correspondence, articles, photographs, negatives, slides, books, and other materials related to his work and family.  These materials are arranged alphabetically and spread across four series:

  • Sculptures, Medals, and Commissions
  • Shows, Articles, and Related Materials
  • Miscellaneous
  • Photographs, Negatives, and Slides
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License