Skip to main content

CAMC Collection 020. Gustavus Library Associates. Collection of the Gustavus Library Associates, 1977-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Gustavus Library Associates.  Collection of the Gustavus Library Associates, 1977-Ongoing.  CAMC Collection 20.  3 Records Center Cartons, 1 Hollinger Box, 5 flat boxes, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Gustavus Library Associates collection consists of administration materials, program and event planning documents and brochures, photographs and slides, and some miscellaneous items including awards and research into the association’s history.  The Gustavus Library Associates is an award winning volunteer organization dedicated to assisting the Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Organization Note

The Gustavus Library Associates formed in 1977 with a stated goal of strengthening the library at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Their mission was to “support the advancement of the resources and collections of Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library. . . .” 

According to Michael Haeuser’s research on the Gustavus Library Associates, interested parties banded together because “the condition of the library collection was weak.”  In the years since its founding, members have helped make the organization a national model.  This recognition was achieved, in part, by the group’s winning of the American Library Association’s John Cotton Dana Award, a creativity award from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, and an outstanding academic library award from the Friends of Libraries U.S.A/Baker & Taylor Book Award.

* Information obtained from Michael J. Haeuser’s With Grace, Elegance, and Flair: The First 25 Years of the Gustavus Library Associates.

Scope and Content

The Gustavus Library Associates collection is organized into four series: Administration, Events, Miscellaneous, and Photographs, Scrapbooks, and Slides.

Administration materials consist of board materials, correspondence, minutes, histories, and newsletters.  Materials are organized by content area.

Events document the various activities of GLA from Royal Affairs to Authors Days.  In addition, the group has held many other events such as coffees and teas.  The purpose of events is to generate funds and attract new members.  Materials are organized broadly by event name.

Miscellaneous contains primarily awards, research for Michael Haeuser’s book With Grace, Elegance, and Flair: The First 25 Years of the Gustavus Library Associates, and histories of the Faculty Women’s Club.  Items are organized by subject.

Photographs, Scrapbooks, and Slides documents the group’s events, activities, meetings, and members.  Images are organized chronologically and then by subject.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License