Skip to main content

CAMC Collection 037. Bauman Family. Correspondence of J.A. and Lizzie Bauman and other Relatives, 1864-1961: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Bauman Family.  Correspondence of J.A. and Lizzie Bauman and other Relatives, 1864-1961.  CAMC Collection 37.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Bauman Family collection consists primarily of correspondence to and from J.A. and Lizzie Bauman from 1881-1907.  It also contains correspondence from some of their relatives.  J.A. Bauman was a professor of German, Latin, English, Elocution, Education, and Arithmetic at Gustavus Adolphus College from 1881-85.  His wife, Lizzie Bauman, was a professor of English, Geography, Algebra, Physiology, Penmanship, and Drawing at Gustavus from 1881-83.  In 1882, the
Baumans donated the College Bell, located in the bell tower of Old Main.

Scope and Content

The Bauman Family collection consists of four series: J.A. Bauman, Lizzie Kiefer Bauman, J.A.and Lizzie Bauman, and Miscellaneous. Arrangement within each is generally alphabetical.

J.A. Bauman, 1864-1929
This series contains primarily correspondence to and from J.A. Bauman.  Included are a speech he gave on Memorial Day in 1884, a resolution from the Minnesota Conference and teacher’s provisional certificates.

Lizzie Kiefer Bauman, 1865-1918
This series contains correspondence to and from Lizzie Bauman.  Most of the correspondence was to family members.

J.A. and Lizzie Bauman, 1870-1913
This series contains correspondence sent to both J.A. and Lizzie Bauman, along with programs that reference them and receipts and a letter of thanks regarding the College Bell.

Miscellaneous, 1870-1961
This series contains correspondence from Ida and Sarah Bauman, the daughters of J.A. and Lizzie Bauman, along with correspondence from Lizzie Bauman’s brother, James Kiefer.  Additional correspondence addressed to “Cousin” and “Friend,” and some correspondence written in shorthand are included.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License