Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 058. Lagerström, Reinhold. Musical Scores and other Materials by Reinhold Lagerström, 1885-1916: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lagerström, Reinhold.  Musical Scores and other Materials by Reinhold Lagerström, 1885-1916.  CAMC Collection 58.  1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Reinhold Lagerström collection includes original scores, copied materials, a journal, and certificates for Reinhold Lagerström.  Original scores were composed by Lagerström, often with other lyricists and arrangers.  Copied materials were most likely from his school days and used for practice.  The journal Kyrkosången (The Church Song) was edited by Lagerström and often contains his compositions.  There are also his diplomas from Kough Music Conservatory in Stockholm, Sweden.

Biographical Note

Reinhold Lagerström (1861-1936) was born in Spring Garden, Minnesota.  He attended Gustavus Adolphus College from 1882-1883.  He then attended the Kungliga Musikakademien (Royal Swedish Academy of Music) in Stockholm from 1884-1888 where he received degrees in both organ playing and church singing.  He received a Master’s of Music from Alfred University, Alfred Center, New York in 1890 and a Doctorate of Music from the Grand Conservatory of Music, New York, New York in 1892.  He taught Music at Gustavus Adolphus College in 1884, and again from 1888-1907.  Along with Peter R. Melin, the organist at Center City, Minnesota, Lagerström was the editor of Kyrkosåsngen from 1906-1917.  The publication contained anthems for church choirs and articles on music, emphasizing church music.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License