Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 078. Turner, Amy Evelyn. Personal Papers of Amy Evelyn Turner, 1909-1977: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Turner, Amy Evelyn.  Personal Papers of Amy Evelyn Turner, 1909-1977.  CAMC Collection 78.  1 Record Center Carton, 1 Hollinger box and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Amy Evelyn Turner collection is comprised of an assortment of personal belongings and writings by Turner.  Included are diaries, account books, and a scrapbook.  Diaries range from everyday journals, in which Turner kept a record of her daily activities, to garden diaries.  Included are a number of travel diaries with titles such as “Trip to Grand Rapids” and “Eastern Trip” and “Trip to Florida.”  Collection also contains birthday books and calendars.

Biographical Note

Amy Evelyn Turner was born 5 August 1882 to John and Josephine Turner.  She attended Gustavus Adolphus College for two years from 1918-19.  Afterwards, she taught country school for six years.  In Fairmont, MN, Turner worked for the County Agent’s office.  After this, she worked in the Miller and Miller Insurance office in St. Peter, MN until 1950.  She was an avid traveler and journal-keeper and had one brother, Clarence Jonas Turner.  Amy Turner died in 1987.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License