Skip to main content

CAMC Collection 089. Peterson, Florence Mathilda Turner. Collection of Florence Turner Peterson, 1865-1988: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Peterson, Florence Mathilda Turner.  Collection of Florence Turner Peterson, 1865-1988.  CAMC Collection 89.  3 Record Center Cartons, 1 Hollinger box, 1 audio cassette box, and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Florence Turner Peterson collection contains a variety of materials relating to her personal life and her family.  Materials in this collection include correspondence, photo albums, financial records, audio cassettes, and memorabilia, many of which relate to daily life at Gustavus Adolphus College or in St. Peter, Minnesota.  Florence Peterson was born 28 April 1900, and died 27 November 1988.  Peterson was a member of the community of Gustavus Adolphus College for many years; she graduated in 1922, was a professor of English and History, and the College Archivist from 1956-1982.  In addition, she was involved with international students, and provided housing for student boarders, many of whom corresponded with her following graduation.

Scope and Content

This collection is split into several series: Correspondence, Books and Diaries, Photo Albums, and Miscellaneous.  Some materials in these collections are in foreign languages, as noted.

Correspondence consists of primarily personal correspondence from family, friends, and Gustavus students, dating from 1901-1988.  Note that some letters may be written in foreign languages, including Swedish, German, Japanese, and Taiwanese.  A minority of this series consists of business correspondence, outgoing correspondence, or correspondence between Peterson’s family members.  Materials are grouped by sender and further arranged chronologically.

Books and Diaries includes guest books, notebooks, scrapbooks, Bibles, and other bound materials.  Some materials are in Swedish.  Materials are arranged chronologically.

Photo Albums includes photo albums compiled by Peterson and her family members, and date from the late 1800’s to 1983.  Materials are arranged chronologically.

Miscellaneous contains a variety of other materials, including financial records, family records, wedding memorabilia and audio cassettes.  Some materials are in Swedish. Materials are grouped by type and arranged chronologically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License