Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 105. The Almen and Related Families Collection, 1870-2012: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

The Almen and Related Families Collection, 1870-2012.  CAMC Collection 105.  1 Hollinger box, 2 half Hollinger boxes, and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Almen and Related Families collection contains materials related to the Almen, Towley, Vickner, and Sandin families.  The collection includes correspondence, land deeds, newspaper clippings, writings, and other memorabilia.  L.G. Almen worked for Gustavus Adolphus College as a solicitor during the First Endowment Fund Drive and personally contributed the first $1,000.  G.H. Towley donated the second $1,000 and taught in the Commerce Department.  The Vickners donated the funds for the Almen-Vickner Guest House, the Edwin J. Vickner Hall of Language Arts, and the Almen-Vickner Foundation.

Biographical Note

L.G. Almen was a pastor who also worked as a solicitor for the First Endowment Fund Drive at Gustavus Adolphus College.  He personally gave the first $1,000.  His son-in-law G.H. Towley gave the second $1,000.  Towley was also head of the Commerce Department and Treasurer of the College from 1898-1911.  Edwin Vickner taught German and Swedish at Gustavus Adolphus College from 1903-1912.  He and his wife Bertha donated many gifts to the college, including the Almen-Vickner Guest House, the Edwin J. Vickner Hall of Language Arts, the Pioneer Room in the first Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library which housed a 5,000 book collection, and funds for the Almen-Vickner Foundation.  Many members of this extended family graduated from Gustavus Adolphus Academy and Gustavus Adolphus College.

FAMILY TREE:

  • Lars (Louis) Gustaf Almen (1846-1912)  m.  Elizabeth Christine Johnson (1854-1935)
    • Louise Victoria Almen (1879-1959)  m.  Gabriel Heiberg Towley (1868-1932)
      • Carl Winfred Kahrs Towley (1907-1959)  m.  Violet Mattson (1906-1989)
      • Catherine Elizabeth Almen Towley (1910-1986)
      • Caroline Louise Almen Towley (1915-1996)  m.  Howard Victor Sandin (1916-1975)
    • Gustaf Theodore Almen (1881-1946)  m.  Martha Margaret Curtis (1899-1975)
      • Martha Louise Almen (1918-)
    • Bertha Althea Almen (1883-1970)  m.  Edwin J. Vickner (1878-1958)
    • Ansgar Lorenzo Almen (1887-1963)  m.  Isabelle Marie Casey (1893-1964)
      • Mary Elaine Almen (1916-2009)
    • Wilhelmina “Minnie” Elizabeth Almen (1889-1954)
    • Carl William Almen (1891-1975) m. Agnes Louise Hedeen (1898-1964)
      • Louis Theodore Almen (1925-2014)
    • Edith Marie Sophia Almen (1893-1970)
    • Alphonse Peter Constantine Almen (1895-1976)

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into five sections:  The Almen Family, the Towley Family, the Vickner Family, the Sandin Family, and Miscellaneous.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License