Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 113. Collection of Ella (Peterson) and Leonard Pehrson, 1895-1956: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Collection of Ella (Peterson) and Leonard Pehrson, 1895-1956.  CAMC Collection 113.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Leonard and Ella Pehrson collection contains mainly correspondence to Ella from Leonard.  Also there are other letters sent to Ella, the couple’s marriage certificate, Ella's diploma, and some commencement invitations.  Programs from performances by both Ella and Leonard Pehrson are included along with a scrapbook of newspaper clippings compiled by Leonard, regarding music and politics.

Biographical Note

Ella Peterson attended the Gustavus Adolphus Conservatory, graduating in 1895.  While in school she received the Gold Medal for pianistic accomplishments.  She continued her music education at the Minneapolis School of Music and Sherwood School of Music in Chicago.  She joined the Music faculty at Gustavus in 1897.  She left in 1901 when she married Leonard Pehrson, a popular trombone player.  Leonard died in 1913, and Ella returned to Gustavus where she worked until her retirement in 1947.  The Pehrson’s had three children, Ethel, Bertil, and Helen.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License