Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 122. Heitzeg, Steve. Collection of Steve Heitzeg, 1978-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Heitzeg, Steve.  Collection of Steve Heitzeg, 1978-Ongoing.  CAMC Collection 122.  2 half Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Steve Heitzeg collection contains materials related to his career as a composer.  This includes correspondence, biographical materials, music, programs from premiere performances of his pieces, and publicity, consisting of newspaper and magazine articles, flyers, announcements, and press releases.  There is also a copy of “P.S.: A Contemporary Opera” written during his senior year of high school.  Heitzeg graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1982 and received the school’s First Decade Award in 1992 and the Distinguished Alumni Citation in 1996.  Folders are arranged alphabetically.

Biographical Note

“Born in 1959, Steve Heitzeg grew up on a dairy farm in southern Minnesota.  As a child he studied guitar and piano and wrote his first compositions, including a rock opera.  Following undergraduate work at Gustavus Adolphus College, he received his doctorate in music theory and composition from the University of Minnesota School of Music, studying composition with Dominick Argento.  He served as the 1993-94 composer-in-residence at the University of Saint Thomas and has taught at Mankato State University and Gustavus Adolphus College.  Heitzeg lives in Saint Paul with his wife, daughter and their Weimaraner.”

“Heitzeg is the recipient of a 2005 Bush Foundation Fellowship, a 2001 McKnight Fellowship, a Meet The Composer/Reader’s Digest-Lila Wallace Commissioning Grant, and American Composer’s Forum Continental Harmony grant, Meet The Composer/New York and Midwest grants, and numerous other grants and commissions.  He was named Minnesota’s “Composer of the Year” in 2000 by the Minnesota Music Academy.”

*Taken from his website http://www.steveheitzeg.com/bio.html 17 January 2012.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License