Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 135. Westburg, Wilma Jensen. Collection of Wilma Jensen, 1925-1959: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Westburg, Wilma Jensen.  Collection of Wilma Jensen, 1925-1959.  CAMC Collection 135.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Collection of Wilma Jensen contains documents and materials ranging from Jensen’s childhood through her involvement with the Gustavus Library Associates later in life.  Included are Gustavus College yearbooks, class schedules, Greek material, summer camp information, and a variety of newspaper articles and sentimental items.  She graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1938 and received the Gustavus Adolphus Distinguished Alumni Award.  Folders are arranged chronologically. 

Biographical Note

Wilma (Westburg) Jensen was born in Hopkins, Minnesota on 11 June 1916.  She attended Gustavus Adolphus College and was actively involved in the Missionary Society, Lutheran Student Association, and was elected president of the Iota Beta Sorority.  Jensen graduated in 1938 and went on to the University of Minnesota to obtain her Library Science degree in 1940. She married Emmanuel (Jens) Jensen and served in several librarian and secretarial positions over the course of her life in a variety of churches and mission organizations. Wilma Jensen held the position of Executive Director of the Lutheran Church Library Association from 1963 to 1991.  She was recognized with the Gustavus Adolphus Distinguished Alumni Award in 1974 for Library Science and the WCCO Good Neighbor Award.  Jensen passed away on 26 August 2002 in Minnetonka, Minnesota.

Information obtained from an obituary published by the Minneapolis Star Tribune, 29 August 2002.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License