Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 138. Eckman, Peter Johan and Frans Magnus Eckman. Collection of Correspondence and Diaries of Frans and Peter Eckman, 1866-1994: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Eckman, Peter Johan and Frans Magnus Eckman.  Collection of Correspondence and Diaries of Frans and Peter Eckman, 1866-1994.  CAMC Collection 138.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Peter and Frans Eckman collection consists of letters, diaries, sermon books, and note books.  Much of the content is Swedish, though some diaries entries are translated.  Diaries and letters are very fragile and include photocopies.

Biographical Note

Peter Johan Eckman was born during 1835 in Smaland, Sweden.  He immigrated to the United States in 1866, where he became a lay preacher and was ordained.  He died during 1914.  Frans Magnus Eckman, the son of Peter Eckman, was born in 1867 in Stockholm, Minnesota.  He became a well-known pastor in southern Minnesota.  Frans died 27 September 1947, in Duluth, Minnesota.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three sections: Peter Johan Eckman, Frans Magnus Eckman, and Miscellaneous.  Each section is arranged alphabetically.

Peter Johan Eckman, 1867-1975: This section holds a diary, correspondence to and from Eckman, and modern publications of his writing.

Frans Magnus Eckman, 1895-1914: This section contains a set of sermon notebooks and philosophy notebooks.

Miscellaneous, 1866-1994, and undated: This section contains family history, letter fragments, and photographs.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License