Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 146. Nelson Holmberg Family. Collection of John Nelson, Agnes Holmberg and Other Relatives, 1860-1912: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Nelson Holmberg Family.  Collection of John Nelson, Agnes Holmberg and Other Relatives, 1860-1958.  CAMC Collection 146.  11 folders and 2 oversize folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Nelson, Holmberg, and other relatives collection consists of financial notebooks, receipts, contracts, calling cards, sewing guides and sample work, a current events scrapbook, and wedding invitations belonging to John Nelson, Victor E. Holmberg, Hannah Nelson, Irene Holmberg, and Agnes Holmberg.  Nelson’s daughter Hannah Nelson married Victor E. Holmberg, their child, Agnes Holmberg, graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1914.  She then taught in several Minnesota high schools.

Biographical/Historical/Organization Note

John Nelson was born in Sweden under the name of Johan Nilsson.  He immigrated to the United States in 1872 with his wife Johanna and their three children.  They settled in Minnesota, and he changed his name to John Nelson.  His daughter, Hannah Nelson, married Victor E. Holmberg.  Agnes and Irene Holmberg were the children of Victor Holmberg and Hannah Nelson.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series: Nelson and Holmberg.

Nelson Family, 1860-1911: This series is comprised of John Nelson’s notebooks and financial records and Hannah Nelson’s calling cards.  Also included are John Nelson’s passenger contract and the travel schedule for the Inman-Linien passenger shipping company.

Holmberg Family, 1889-1958: This series includes Agnes Holmberg’s sewing course materials and work samples, Victor Holmberg’s general store work contract, Agnes and Irene’s diplomas from Gustavus Adolphus College, Irene Holmberg’s current events scrapbook, and wedding invitations for marriages of Victor Holmberg to Hannah Nelson and Theodor A. Holmberg to Anna Lorinda Johnson.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License