Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 152. Johnson, Ruth Nelson. Ruth Johnson Scrapbook Collection, 1940-1976: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Johnson, Ruth Nelson.  Ruth Johnson Scrapbook Collection, 1940-1976.  CAMC Collection 152.  2 flat boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Ruth Nelson Johnson Scrapbook collection contains nine scrapbooks spanning from 1940 to 1976.  Scrapbooks one through eight contain a wide variety of newspaper clippings regarding numerous subjects.  Common themes include news regarding Gustavus Adolphus College, Lutheran church activities throughout the country, but mostly in Minnesota, the obituaries of different people, and local news for the St. Peter and Mankato area.  Scrapbook nine contains personal birthday, holiday, greeting cards, and photographs.

Biographical Note

Ruth Nelson was born 26 November 1900 in Escanaba, Michigan.  She graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1920.  Nelson went on to teach Latin, Math, Bible Study, and Church History and served as director of women’s athletics at Gustavus.  She married Hobart Johnson on 2 September 1926 at the Clear Lake Lutheran Church in Gibbon, Minnesota.  The couple were missionaries in Tanganyika in February 1928.  After her husband’s 1957 death, she moved to St. Peter where she lived until her death during 1992.  Beginning in 1961 she became a long-time volunteer archivist at the Gustavus Adolphus College and Lutheran Church Archives.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License