Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 160. Jerome Mettetal’s Collection of Opera Related Materials, 1913-1978: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Jerome Mettetal’s Collection of Opera Related Materials, 1913-1978.  CAMC Collection 160.  20 folders.

ABSTRACT:
Jerome Mettetal’s Collection of Opera Related Materials contains items regarding his donation of recordings and print materials to the Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library.  Also included are materials he collected regarding opera and opera singers, with a special concentration on Jussi Björling, a Swedish opera singer.

Biographical Note

Rev. Jerome Mettetal was born 23 July 1925 in Detroit, Michigan.  As a young boy he studied piano and violin and served as concertmaster of his high school orchestra.  He began college at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 1943 before he transferred to the Detroit College of Law in 1944.  He received his Bachelor of Laws in 1948 followed by his Master of Divinity from McCormick Theological Seminary in Chicago in 1954.  Mettetal died 26 February 1977.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four series: Jerome Mettetal Collection; Jussi Björling; Other Artists; and Miscellaneous.

Jerome Mettetal Collection consists of correspondence related to the donation of items to the Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library, along with a collection brochure, and a program from the dedication.

Jussi Björling contains materials Mettetal collected regarding the Swedish opera singer.  Included are a scrapbook, clippings, correspondence, and photographs.

Other Artists encompasses correspondence, programs, and photographs collected relating to other opera singers and pianists.

Miscellaneous includes autographs from musical artists and various opera programs.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License