Skip to main content

CAMC Collection 164. Collection of Correspondence, Articles, and Works of Sara Mattson Anliot, 1939-1991: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Collection of Correspondence, Articles, and Works of Sara Mattson Anliot, 1939-1991.  CAMC Collection 164.  1 large flat box and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The collection of Sara Mattson (Mattsson) Anliot, a Swedish-American weaver, has a bulk of materials from 1982-83 consisting of correspondence and materials about her visit to Gustavus Adolphus College.  Earlier materials are poems by Anliot and her sister, Valborg Gravander.  The most recent materials are programs and articles.  This collection also holds audio recordings from an American Swedish Foundation breakfast and from a gallery talk that contain Anliot talking and music.  Anliot donated a fiber collage entitled “Grandmother’s Glove” or “Queen Sofia’s Laces” to the Royal Affair gala fundraising event for Gustavus Library Association.  Some materials are in Swedish.

Biographical Note

Sara Ingeborg Abrahamina Mattson (Mattsson) Anliot lived 28 March 1898 to 28 April 1991.  She created a technique called “Siama” that combines natural objects with wool.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License