Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAMC Collection 168. Youngquist, Walter. Collection of Walter Youngquist, 2005-2018: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Youngquist, Walter.  Collection of Walter Youngquist, 2005-2018.  CAMC Collection 168.  1 folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Walter Youngquist Collection consists of two volumes of The Social Contract containing a variety of articles written by Youngquist and others from spring and fall 2005, as well as several of his writings, and personal pictures.  Most content in this collection dates from 2005 to 2008.

Biographical Note

Walter Youngquist was born 5 May 1921 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  He attended Gustavus Adolphus College and graduated in 3 years in 1942 with honors.  He proceeded to obtain his Master’s in Geology at the University of Iowa.  Youngquist joined the Navy and served in World War II.  He went back to the University of Iowa and earned his Ph.D. in geology, graduating in 1948.  He held several different positions throughout the United States such as The University of Iowa, Peru, University of Kansas, and the University of Oregon.  Work took him to more than seventy countries.  The most notable trips included the journey across all of Siberia and into Mongolia, over the Andes Mountains and 500 miles by boat down the Ucayali river, and then down the length of the Amazon to its mouth at Belem, Brazil, as well as to Baffin Island to collect fossils.  He wrote more than 150 articles, and 10 books, two of which were reviewed by the Wall Street Journal.  Youngquist was a part of the Geological Society of America and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and an emeritus member of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.  He married Elizabeth Pearson in 1943, and together they had four children.  His wife died in 2010.  He sold his house shortly after and applied the proceeds to develop scholarships in their memory.  Walter died on 20 February 2018, at the age of 96.  

*Taken from Collection

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License