Research Guides: EDU 320: Literacy for the K-12 Teacher: Start

Ask Us!

Summer Research Help:

Email folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)
24/7 chat (during the summer months, monitored by librarians from other colleges & universities)

Fall & Spring Semester Research Help:

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)

Best Bets!

ERIC
Major index to literature in education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, and research reports. ERIC citations date from 1966 to the present, and full text is available for many research reports.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than 200 educational reports. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals and books to assist professional educators. Coverage includes assessment, curriculum development, literacy standards, and more.

EDU 320: Literacy for the K-12 Teacher

Research is an adventure. It's open-ended, exploratory, surprising, frustrating, and full of blind alleys and interesting side trips. It doesn't have to be lonely. Compare notes with your colleagues and take advantage of the friendly people sitting at the reference desk. We love to help you find what you're looking for.