Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Economics Issues
When doing research in college, you often need to find research written by experts published in the form of scholarly books and articles. This guide will introduce you to some useful research tools.
photo courtey of Moyan Brenn
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics - Ref HB 61 .N49 2008
A scholarly and thorough 8-volume encyclopedia that defines and explores the meaning of terms and concepts in economics.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society - Ref HB 61 .S17564 2015
This encyclopedia explores the relationship between economics and the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society.
Databases for Articles
Academic Search Premier
Includes both popular and academic articles. Use the check boxes on the left-hand side to limit a search to peer-reviewed journals or to magazines or newspapers. You can also adjust the dates to focus on recently-published articles. If the article isn't linked, use the yellow FindIt button to see if it's in another database.
Business Source Premier
This business research database contains industry and company profiles, market research reports, and academic journals, magazine, and trade publications. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
The American Economic Association's electronic database, contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present.
A specialized version of Google that links to scholarly papers. If the text is available through our library, it will have a link to the right of the article.
ProQuest US Newsstream
You may want to see what's going on by searching newspapers. This database includes the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and hundreds of other newspapers. These are not academic sources.
January 2021 reference (research) help:
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License