Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You will need to find good information to prepare your annotated bibliography and to build your website. The goals for this session are to:
- Learn ways to make your Google searching more effective.
- Gain experience with library search tools – the catalog and article databases.
- Get familiar with the library – how things are organized, what places & resources are available.
- Develop criteria for screening sources for quality and appropriateness.
- Discover sources for images you can use without copyright concerns.
Useful Google Hacks
- Limit a search by domain type: egg donors site:.gov
- Exclude domains from a search: egg donors –site:.com
- Limit a search to recent publications: at the top of your search results, click on tools and choose a time period (helpful if you want up-to-date information)
- Search two related terms at once using OR: egg OR oocyte
- Put a phrase in quotes: “Intracytoplasmic sperm transfer”
- Not sure where a page comes from? Delete everything in the URL after the first / to go to the root page
- Use a specialized Google search to focus on news, images, or scholarly publications
Organizations and Government Agencies
Information Sources for Non-Specialists
Sample Web Sites
These sites are examples of well-organized, engaging, and accessible (clearly written, straight-forward, and audience-appropriate) content.
Find Reusable Images
Flickr - a social networking site for photos. To find photos licensed for reuse, narrow a search by clicking on the drop down "any license" link and choose "creative commons."
Google Images - go to images.google.com, search, then at the top of your results choose Tools > Usage Rights > Labeled for Reuse
Unsplash - a source of pictures for illustrating websites; the search function is not highly specific.
Wikimedia Commons – repository of millions of images and videos either in the public domain or licensed for reuse.
NOTE: when building a website, you should use images that are licensed for reuse, are in the public domain, or are photos you took yourself. It's good practice to indicate the source of images and to avoid reusing copyrighted images.
Find Library Resources
The default search box includes books, videos, some articles, and government documents in our library and elsewhere. You can limit a search by date, format (e.g. book) or just to things available at Gustavus. If you come across a book or article that isn't here, it's easy to request a copy from another library (interlibrary loan).
Academic Search Premier
This database (the first one listed under the Articles tab on the library's website) includes articles on all subjects published in newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Use the limits on the left-hand side of your search results to narrow by date or type of source. In some cases, a link to the article is available. If it's not, click on the "find it" button. That will tell you if it's available through our library and, if not, will give you the opportunity to request a copy from another library.
Reports designed to inform medical practitioners through a systematic review of scientific studies. Though it includes information about reproductive technologies, it may be too technical for your website's audience.
What Floor Is It On?
Books in the general collection with call numbers starting with A - PQ are shelved on the upper level
Books in the general collection with call numbers starting with PR - Z are on the main floor
Many books on reproductive technology are found in a book case near the front door; these have a call number ending with Entrance Display.
Books of Interest
Babies of Technology by
Call Number: Display KF3830 .M37 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
The New Eugenics by
Call Number: Display HQ751 .D33 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Babies by Design by
Call Number: Display RB155 .G74 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-28
Governed Through Choice by
Call Number: Display KF3760 .D46 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License