Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 028. Guild of St. Ansgar. Collection, 1952-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Guild of St. Ansgar.  Collection, 1952-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 28.  3 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Guild of St. Ansgar collection consists of lists of members, award winners, and correspondence from 1952 through the present.  Additional materials consist of clippings and organizational materials.  St. Ansgar was a Christian missionary to Sweden and Denmark during the ninth century.  Guild members are chosen during their senior year based on scholarship, leadership, and participation in campus activities at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Organization Note

“The Guild of St. Ansgar is the Gustavus Adolphus College honorary society for seniors.  The Guild is appropriately named after St. Ansgar, since Gustavus was originally named St. Ansgar’s Academy.

St. Ansgar was a missionary to Sweden and Denmark during the ninth century.  He worked to develop Christian education, to establish medical missions, to help the poor and to liberate the serfs.  He was a courageous, religious, active and able man.

The students who have been chosen were selected by a student-faculty committee for their scholarship, leadership and participation in extra-curricular activities.”

Information in this historical note obtained from the collection.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License