Skip to main content

GACA Collection 031. Nursing Department. Records of the Nursing Department, 1946-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Nursing Department.  Records of the Nursing Department, 1946-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 31.  4 Records Center Cartons, 2 flat boxes, 1 oversize folder, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Gustavus Adolphus College Nursing Department collection consists of records that document the department’s activities from 1955 through present.  Collection includes course materials, faculty reports, agendas, minutes, and various other records that pertain to this department.  Materials are also comprised of records relating to the Minnesota Intercollegiate Nursing Consortium (MINC), a partnership to share resources between Gustavus Adolphus and St. Olaf College.  The Gustavus Nursing Department was established in 1956 with its first graduating class in 1960.  New materials are added on an ongoing basis.

Scope and Content

The Gustavus Nursing Department collection documents the department’s activities from 1955 through present.  Materials are organized into five series: Accreditation and Course Information, Minnesota Intercollegiate Nursing Consortium, Minutes and Agendas, Miscellaneous, and Reports.

Accreditation and Course Information, 1959-Ongoing: This series includes materials pertaining primarily to students rather than faculty.  Subjects within this category include student handbooks, accreditation information, and scholarship materials.

Minnesota Intercollegiate Nursing Consortium, 1982-2014: The Minnesota Intercollegiate Nursing Consortium (MINC) category includes the history and activity of this shared nursing program.  Gustavus dissolved its relationship with the consortium in April 2016.

Minutes and Agendas, 1989-Ongoing: Information within this area contains materials for faculty meetings, including minutes and agendas.

Reports, 1955-Ongoing: These consist of faculty information referring primarily to course reports and course outlines. 

Miscellaneous, 1946-Ongoing: The series contains miscellaneous materials. These range from newsletters to pictures to self-study information, along with various other items including lamps and a uniform.  Also included are planning materials for the 50 Years of Nursing Reunion.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License