Skip to main content

GACA Collection 036. Rodine, Milward Theodore. Collection of Milward T. Rodine, 1933-1969: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Rodine, Milward Theodore.  Collection of Milward T. Rodine, 1933-1969.  GACA Collection 36.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Milward Rodine collection consists of various lab workbooks created by Rodine for students to use in his classes along with grade books and personal papers.  Workbooks comprise a number of ideas in several areas of physics.  Grade books from 1950 to 1968 are included with various papers as he had them organized within each book.  This collection also includes professional papers along with information on the Navy V-12 program and the Foucault Pendulum.  Rodine obtained his doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and came to Gustavus Adolphus College in 1933 to work in the physics department.

Biographical Note

Milward Theodore Rodine was born 10 December 1902 in Lindsborg, Kansas, to Carl Rudolph and Lydia Rodine.  He received his bachelor’s degree from Bethany College in Lindsborg, Kansas in 1926, his Master’s degree from the University of Kansas in 1930, and his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin in 1937.  While working on his master’s degree he taught high school mathematics in Marion, Kansas for four years. 

In 1933, Rodine was called to head the Physics Department at Gustavus Adolphus College.  He would continue working there for 35 years, until his sudden death on 7 January 1969 while supervising a laboratory in photography.  While at Gustavus, Rodine helped to fundraise for the Alfred Nobel Hall of Science and was tasked with designing the Physics area in the new building.  He was an active member of the V-12 program teaching staff throughout World War II.  During summer months, Rodine worked on projects for many different companies, including, the U.S. Navy, Honeywell, Boeing, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  He published regularly and held a patent.  While at Gustavus, Rodine served as president of the Minnesota Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers.

Rodine married Elsie Rosengren of Sacred Heart, Minnesota in 1937.  They had two sons, Elward and Earl.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License