Skip to main content

GACA Collection 040. Inter-Sorority Senate. Records, 1961-1983: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Inter-Sorority Senate.  Records, 1961-1983.  GACA Collection 40.  14 folders and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Inter-Sorority Senate collection consists of records created by the body from 1961 through 1983 at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Papers include various versions of the group’s constitution, handbooks, rushing handbooks, correspondence, minutes, and information about pledging.  Handbooks often contain lists of each sorority’s executive members and advisors.  Arrangement is both alphabetical and chronological.  There is also a large silver tray presented for a scholarship award from the Inter-Sorority Senate to Theta Xi Gamma sorority in 1966 and 1967, and to Iota Beta sorority in 1968.

Organization Note

According to the Inter-Sorority Senate’s Constitution, the body formed “to promote a friendly and cooperative spirit among all girls, and uniformity in society practice. . . .”  Member sororities included the following groups with their associated nicknames:

Alpha Phi Rho (Fleas)
Delta Phi Omega (Deltas)
Iota Beta (I.B.s)
Sigma Delta (Sigmas)
Tau Mu Tau (T.M.s)
Theta Xi Gamma (Thetas).

Inter-Sorority Senate (I.S.S.) was begun in 1932 and served as the central governing body of all sororities at Gustavus Adolphus College.  In 1983, it merged with the Inter-Fraternity Senate to form the Inter-Greek Senate.  On 25 April 1988, the Board of Trustees adopted a motion which suspended all official recognition support of Greek social groups belonging to Inter-Greek Senate.  This action was ratified on 23 January 1989.

Information compiled by Jeff Jenson and Edith “Edi” Thorstensson.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License