Skip to main content

GACA Collection 041. Inter-Fraternity Senate. Records, 1956-1983: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Inter-Fraternity Senate.  Records, 1956-1983.  GACA Collection 41.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Inter-Fraternity Senate collection contains information from 1956 through 1983.  This includes administrative information, fraternity activities, and correspondence.  This governing body formed in 1930 and changed its title to the Inter-Greek Senate in 1983.  Materials are described alphabetically and then chronologically.

Organization Note

Inter-Fraternity Senate (IFS) was founded in the spring of 1930 as the Inter-Society Senate and served as the central governing body of all fraternities at Gustavus Adolphus College.  In 1983, it merged with the Inter-Sorority Senate to form the Inter-Greek Senate.  On 25 April 1988, the Board of Trustees adopted a motion which suspended all official recognition and support of Greek social groups belonging to Inter-Greek Senate.  This action was ratified on 23 January 1989.  Steps were taken during spring 1992 to reinstate fraternities and sororities on campus.  This process was continued and by the fall of 1993 11 of the campus’s 15 Greek organizations were again recognized or involved in the reinstatement process.

Information compiled by Edith “Edi” Thorstensson and Jeff A. Jenson.

Scope and Content

The collection has been divided into the following three series: Administrative, Activities and Miscellaneous, and Correspondence.  Materials are described alphabetically and then chronologically.

Administrative, 1956-1983: This series includes materials that focus on the fraternity from an administrative perspective.  Items include handbooks, meeting agendas, fraternity constitutions, and other such data.

Activities and Miscellaneous, 1957-1983: The Activities and Miscellaneous category contains information that the Inter-Fraternity Senate collected.  This includes financial records, initiation guidelines, problems and damages caused, and fraternity/sorority rosters.

Correspondence, 1961-1983: The Correspondence portion of this collection includes letters to, from, or concerning campus fraternities.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License