Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 067. Academic Policy and Program Committee. Records of the Academic Policy and Program Committee (AP&P), 1959-1997: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Academic Policy and Program Committee.  Records of the Academic Policy and Program Committee (AP&P), 1959-1997.  GACA Collection 67.  2 Records Center Cartons and 2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Academic Policy and Program Committee collection consists of minutes and related materials, subcommittee minutes, curriculum reviews, and other work group materials and articles that concern the academic program at Gustavus Adolphus College.  The AP&P committee had many functions, including annual reviews of graduation requirements and curriculum, planning of the academic calendar, review and recommendation of faculty departmental programs, and campus-wide academic programs.  The committee was disbanded during spring 1997, and its duties were divided into both existing and new committees.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four series: Minutes and Related Materials, Subcommittees, Curriculum Reviews, and Miscellaneous.

Minutes and Related Materials holds the AP&P Committee meeting minutes and materials such as memos, correspondence, and readings related to meeting discussion topics.  Although fairly inclusive, there are some gaps.  The series is arranged chronologically.

Subcommittees contains minutes and related materials for various subcommittees of the AP&P Committee.  These subcommittees are:

  • Academic Achievement
  • Academic Operations
  • Academic Operations and Achievement
  • Academic Probation
  • Curriculum
  • Instructional Resources
  • International Education
  • January Term
  • Petitions
  • Planning and Renewal
  • Special Programs
  • Teacher Education
  • Women’s Studies

This series is arranged alphabetically.

Curriculum Reviews consists of reviews, overhauls, and workshops that pertain to the academic curriculum at Gustavus.  This series is arranged chronologically.

Miscellaneous includes materials from the General Education Working Group/Task Force and from studies about faculty course workloads.  In addition, there are two articles about the future of Gustavus from 1959.  This series is arranged alphabetically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License