Skip to main content

GACA Collection 068. Dean of Students Office. Gustavus Guide and Parent’s Handbook, 1943-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Dean of Students Office.  Gustavus Guide and Parent’s Handbook, 1943-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 68.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The Dean of Students Office Gustavus Guide and Parents Handbook collection primarily consists of guides for students and parents.  Included materials are publications known as Information Please, Parent’s Handbook, Handbook for Families, and the Gustavus Guide.  There are some miscellaneous correspondence and flyers as well.  Additional materials will be added to the collection when obtained.

Organization Note

According to the website for the Dean of Students Office, the office “oversees programs and services that support students' education and development both inside and outside the classroom.

Members of the Dean's staff guide, support, and challenge students in taking full advantage of a Gustavus education. They also provide advice, support and assistance to students and student groups and respond to inquiries from students, parents, and others about college policies and procedures.”

* Information obtained from http://gustavus.edu/deanofstudents/ on 10 March 2010.

Scope and Content

The Dean of Students Office collection is divided currently into three sections.  These consist of Miscellaneous, Student Related, and Parent Related.  The Miscellaneous series holds flyers and correspondence.  The Student Related and Parent Related sections contain student handbooks and information booklets for parents.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License