Skip to main content

GACA Collection 075. Theta Xi Gamma Sorority. Collection, 1939-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Theta Xi Gamma Sorority.  Collection, 1939-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 75.  2 Hollinger boxes and 4 flat boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Theta Xi Gamma Sorority collection consists of the organization’s meeting minutes, pledge lists, newsletters, program information, scrapbooks, and other miscellaneous materials.  Professor Inez Rundstrom founded the group during 1920 as the Theta Rho Sorority.  According to the Theta’s constitution, members sought “to enjoy the greatest benefits of a social sorority and to exemplify the finest standards of social, academic, and Christian life.”  Materials will be added to the collection as available.

Historical Note

Professor Inez Rundstrom founded the Theta Rho Sorority during 1920.  The Theta Rho Sorority became the Theta Xi Gamma Sorority in 1924.  Due to unknown circumstances, the Theta’s were disbanded during 1934.  The sorority was reorganized by the Inter-Sorority Senate on 13 October 1939.

Information obtained from the collection and the Gustavian Weekly.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License