Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 076. Sigma Delta Sorority. Collection, 1914-1990: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Sigma Delta Sorority. Collection, 1914-1990.  GACA Collection 76.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Sigma Delta Sorority collection consists of the group’s records from 1914-1990.  Included are meeting minutes, the Tattler and other internal newsletters, program and event information, financial records, membership lists, a couple photographs, and miscellaneous materials.  The Sigma Delta Sorority was founded as a debating and literary organization named the Sémore Society in 1914 at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Members changed the name to the Sigma Delta Sorority about 1919.  Records for both organizations are contained within this collection.

Historical Note

Females founded the Sémore Society, a debating and literary group, in 1914.  The organization was renamed Sigma Delta Sorority about 1919.  The sorority became inactive after 1992.*

*  Information obtained from the winter 2005-06 issue of the Gustavus Quarterly and the collection.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License