Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 079. Gustavus Adolphus College Home Economics Club. Collection, 1948-1962: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Gustavus Adolphus College Home Economics Club.  Collection, 1948-1962.  GACA Collection 79.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Gustavus Adolphus College Home Economics Club collection consists of the organization’s constitution, history, membership lists, financial materials, and information about group activities.  In addition, there are documents concerning the Minnesota Home Economics Association.  Members were active in the College Club of the Minnesota Home Economics Association.  The college discontinued the Home Economics program in May 1962.

Organization Note

The Gustavus Adolphus College Home Economics Club sought “to familiarize the girls in home economics with the national programs of their profession.  To stimulate an interest and desire to further explore and to study the various fields of the profession and to bring about a closer cooperation between girls in the field.  To improve and strengthen the work in the local club through affiliation with the National Home Economics Association.”

Information obtained from the organization’s constitution.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License