Skip to main content

GACA Collection 082. Young, Evelyn Sponberg. Evelyn Young Collection, 1938-2005: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Young, Evelyn Sponberg.  Evelyn Young Collection, 1938-2005.  GACA Collection 82.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Evelyn Young collection consists of a variety of materials that provide information about Young’s personal activities while other documents indicate her interests and friendships.  Young ran Dining Services at Gustavus Adolphus College from the late 1940s to the early 1980s.  The collection contains photographs of various formal dining services along with images of the fine arts center, other campus buildings, and some events.  Artifacts in the collection include t-shirts, a coaster, a mug, Young’s eyeglasses, a school pennant, and a sorority paddle.  Young was active with the Golden Oldies and helped organize reunions for Minnesota College following her retirement.  Numerous campus publications are included dealing with other employees along with general promotional materials.

Biographical Note

Evelyn Sponberg was born in Richland, Minnesota on 25 July 1912.  She graduated cum laude from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1933 and became an English teacher.  Her career as an educator was in various high schools in southern Minnesota.  In 1941, she married Verl “Gus” Young.   She returned to Gustavus in 1949 when he was hired as men’s basketball coach.  After coming back to Gustavus, she became director of Dining Services, a position she held until her retirement in 1981.  She died at her Edina home during September 2005.   During the 1990s the school’s cafeteria was named the Evelyn Young Dining Room.

Information obtained from the collection and a November 2005 Class Letter from the Class of 1971

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License