Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 089. Chi Iota Kappa (XIK) Fraternity. Collection of the Chieftains, 1907-1979: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Chi Iota Kappa (XIK) Fraternity.  Collection of the Chieftains, 1907-1979.  GACA Collection 89.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Chi Iota Kappa collection consists of constitutions, pledge materials, histories, minutes, financial records, programs, and other miscellaneous records from 1907-1979.  Members of Chi Iota Kappa (XIK) were known as the Chieftains at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota.  The fraternity formed in 1907 as the Chieftain Council.  The fraternity became inactive after 2001.  The collection is organized into four series: Administrative, History, Membership, and Memorabilia.

Historical Note

Chi Iota Kappa began in 1907 as the Chieftain Council of Gustavus Adolphus College, a literary society.  Membership was limited to those with an interest in forensics.  As evidenced by internal debates, members were conservative.  They opposed the direct election of U.S. Senators, disagreed with a minimum wage for certain workers, and believed the U.S. should stay out of the League of Nations.  The group officially changed from a society to a fraternity when they became Chi Iota Kappa on 20 November 1922.  As with all Greek organizations, the group was banned during the 1980s and early 1990s.  While they did regain official recognition during the mid 1990s, the group became inactive after 2001.

Scope and Content

Materials in the Chi Iota Kappa collection are organized into four series: Administrative, History, Membership, and Memorabilia.  Folders within each series are listed alphabetically.  Dates range from 1907 through 1979 although most materials are from the 1960s and 1970s.  Memorabilia is undated.  The oldest items are meeting minutes and event programs.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License