Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 093. Department of Philosophy. Collection of the Department of Philosophy, 1926-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Philosophy.  Collection of the Department of Philosophy, 1926-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 93.  2 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Department of Philosophy collection consists of newsletters and other materials compiled by faculty, students, and alumni of Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota.  Content varies, but generally provides insight into happenings within the department, activities of students, reminiscences, and alumni updates. 

Historical Note

The Department of Mental Philosophy began at Gustavus Adolphus College in 1887.  The department’s name changed to Philosophy during 1893, a title that has stayed the same to this day.  There was no Philosophy Department from 1920-1923.  Over the years, course topics offered within the department have included anthropology, psychology, logic, history of philosophy, and ethics.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License