Skip to main content

GACA Collection 094. Alexis, Gerhard Theodore. Correspondence, Teaching, and Publication Materials, 1937-1993: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Alexis, Gerhard Theodore.  Correspondence, Teaching, and Publication Materials, 1937-1993.  GACA Collection 94.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The Gerhard T. Alexis collection consists of correspondence, teaching materials, writings, and some miscellaneous documents.  Alexis served as a Professor of English at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota.  In addition to his duties in English, Alexis helped initiate courses in American Studies.  Materials in the collection primarily concern his literary publications and teaching duties.  While there are gradebooks documenting student grades in his English and American Studies courses, the bulk of course material relates to his teaching about the American West, the wilderness, and an Elderhostel program following his retirement.

Biographical Note

Gerhard Theodore Alexis was born on 20 January 1918.  He obtained his bachelor’s and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Minnesota.  His graduate studies were interrupted in the 1940s when he joined the military.  Alexis became an English Professor at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota at the age of 29 in 1947.  Prior to coming to Gustavus, he served as an English instructor at the University of Minnesota from 1934-1937.  He was active in Phi Beta Kappa, the Modern Language Association, the American Studies Association, the Minn-Dakotas Group, and was a president of the Gustavus Chapter of the American Association of University Professors.  In addition, he created American Studies courses at Gustavus.  Alexis retired in 1983.  He remained active by teaching Elderhostel sessions in connection with the college.  Gerhard Alexis died on 31 January 1993.

Scope and Content

The Gerhard Alexis collection is divided into four series of information.  These consist of Correspondence, Miscellaneous, Teaching, and Writings/Publications.

Correspondence, 1969-1993:  These materials are organized into either incoming or outgoing folders.  Incoming letters are listed alphabetically by the sender.  There are some letters from governors, representatives, and senators.  Outgoing correspondence is organized by date. 

Miscellaneous, 1974 and 1993:  There are two folders in this series.  These contain Alixis’s curriculum vitae, a list of publications ending in 1974, and copies of condolence letters sent to his widow following his death.

Teaching, 1947-1991:  Documents in this series consist of course planning materials, lecture notecards, gradebooks, and Elderhostel teaching plans.  There are some gaps in the gradebooks that correspond with periods that Alexis was on leave from the college.  Gradebook access is restricted.

Writings and Publications, 1937-1984:  This series pertains to works that were produced by Alexis or that he used to help advance his writings.  His Ph.D. dissertation (labeled thesis) is included.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License