Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 113. Alpha Phi Omega. Collection of Alpha Phi Omega Service Fraternity, 1948-2013: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Alpha Phi Omega.  Collection of Alpha Phi Omega Service Fraternity, 1948-2013.  GACA Collection 113.  1 Hollinger box, 4 flat boxes, 1 telescoping box, and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Alpha Phi Omega collection consists of bylaws, programs, certificates, service reports, meeting minutes, a banner, a jacket, and scrapbooks of the service fraternity from 1948 to the present.  Alpha Phi Omega’s goal is to provide service to the campus community, local community, and the world at large.

Organization Note

The Gustavus Adolphus College Zeta Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega began during fall 1948.  It was originally for former Boy Scouts who wanted to apply the lessons they had learned in scouting to the world at large.  It allowed women as auxiliary members in 1974, and as full members in 1976.  Today, the purpose of Alpha Phi Omega is to develop leadership skills, promote friendships, and provide service to fraternity, school, community, and nation.  The Zeta Epsilon chapter disbanded after the 2012-13 academic year due to a lack of members.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License