Skip to main content

GACA Collection 136. Hendrickson, Roy. Materials Concerning Roy Hendrickson and the Board of Trustees, 1920s and 1941-1954: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Hendrickson, Roy.  Materials Concerning Roy Hendrickson and the Board of Trustees, 1920s and 1941-1954.  GACA Collection 136.  2 Records Center Cartons and 1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Roy Hendrickson collection consists of meeting minutes, correspondence, financial documents, reports, photographs, and other materials.  The bulk of these documents are from the mid-1940s and early 1950s.  Hendrickson became a member of the Board of Trustees at Gustavus Adolphus College during 1944 and served as chairman from 1945 into 1953.  Photographs are from the 1920s when Hendrickson was a Gustavus student.  Images include campus buildings, and nature scenes.

Biographical Note

Roy Arthur Hendrickson was born 3 September 1904.  After graduating high school in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, he attended Gustavus Adolphus College where he graduated during 1926.   Hendrickson went to law school and passed the bar during 1929 and subsequently practiced law in Willmar, Minnesota.  He became a member of the Board of Trustees at Gustavus during 1944 and served as Chairman of the Board from 1945 into 1953.  In addition to his role on the Gustavus Board, Hendrickson served as Kandiyohi County Attorney from 1934-1950.  It was during January 1954 and within days following surgery for stomach ulcers that Hendrickson died of pneumonia.

* Information obtained from the collection.

Scope and Content

The Roy Hendrickson collection is organized into four series.  These consist of Board of Trustees; Financial; Lutheran Minnesota Conference and Other Lutheran Bodies; and Miscellaneous.  Aside from photographs and an obituary, almost all of these documents were created during Hendrickson’s term as a board member and concern his role as chairman.

Series One: Board of Trustees, 1943-1952 – Materials include meeting agendas and minutes, reports, and correspondence.

Series Two: Financial, 1944-1952 – Documents in this series include financial reports and other documents.

Series Three: Lutheran Minnesota Conference and Other Lutheran Bodies, 1946-1952 – Items in this group consist of reports, programs, and financial recommendations from the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education.

Series Four: Miscellaneous, 1920s and 1941-1954 – This series contains photographs taken during the 1920s while Hendrickson was a Gustavus student, his obituary, some miscellaneous correspondence, college materials, and other documents.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License