Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 146. Commencement Programs and Related Materials, 1877-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Commencement Programs and Related Materials, 1877-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 146.  3 Records Center Cartons, 1 Hollinger box, 2 cassette tape boxes, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Commencement Programs and Related Materials collection contains programs, invitations, and recordings from Commencement and Alumni Weekends.  Commencement weekend is comprised of the Baccalaureate service and the Commencement ceremony.  There are programs and invitations along with audio and video recordings of these events.  Alumni weekend takes place at the same time and includes a banquet and vespers evening service.  There are programs, invitations, and audio recordings for these events.

Historical Note

The first students at the school, when it moved to St. Peter in 1876, were considered academy students and did not receive bachelor’s degrees.  The first Bachelor of Arts degrees to be awarded at Gustavus Adolphus College were in 1890.  The first Bachelor of Arts degrees awarded to women were in 1895.

Some documents in this collection come from Gustavus Adolphus Academy.  The Academy was a preparatory school located on the same grounds as Gustavus Adolphus College.  Students graduated from the academy with a degree roughly equivalent to a high school diploma.  The final Academy graduating class was in 1931.

Scope and Content

This collection has been divided into six categories: programs and invitations; Baccalaureate recordings; Commencement recordings; Alumni Banquet recordings; Alumni Vespers recordings; and Miscellaneous.

Programs and Invitations holds programs and invitations for commencement and alumni weekend activities.

Baccalaureate Recordings consists of audio recordings on reel-to-reel and audio cassette and digital video recordings of the Baccalaureate services during commencement weekend.  The Baccalaureate service is also sometimes known as the Sacred Service.

Commencement Recordings encompasses audio and video recordings of the commencement ceremonies.  These are on reel-to-reel, audio cassette, and VHS and DVD.

Alumni Banquet Recordings has audio recordings of alumni banquets on reel-to-reel and audio cassette.

Alumni Vespers Recordings consists of audio recordings of alumni vespers services on reel-to-reel and audio cassette.

Miscellaneous involves audio recordings of Alumni Weekend on reel-to-reel and Alumni Programs on audio cassette.  Also, there are some transcripts of commencement addresses and materials regarding the Van Deusen award, which is awarded during commencement.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License