Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 150. Deferred Matriculation of Students. Program Files of Deferred Matriculation of Students (DEMOS), 1968-1970: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Deferred Matriculation of Students.  Program Files of Deferred Matriculation of Students (DEMOS), 1968-1970.  GACA Collection 150.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Deferred Matriculation of Students (DEMOS) collection contains program files, including course materials, grant materials, course evaluations, student applications, and assessments.  The DEMOS program was designed to help underprivileged students get a college education.  The program started students with a reduced course load until they felt caught up, and would then move them into a full course load.  The program was developed by history professor Rodney O. Davis.

Historical Note

The Deferred Matriculation of Students (DEMOS) program was designed to take underprivileged students who may not usually have the chance to attend college and to bring them up to speed through a lighter course load of regular college classes.  They could keep the reduced load for up to two years, and at any point that they were ready for a full class load they could matriculate as any other student and be subjected to the same graduation requirements.  The program came into existence because of an education grant awarded to history professor Dr. Rodney O. Davis.

* Information obtained from the collection and Gustavian Weekly.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two sections: program files and student files.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License