Skip to main content

GACA Collection 153. Association of Women Students. Collection of Association of Women Students, 1947-1977: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Association of Women Students.  Collection of Association of Women Students, 1947-1977.  GACA Collection 153.  ½ Hollinger box and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Association of Women Students (AWS) collection contains the constitution, memos, financial information, and event planning information for the association.  The AWS began in 1947 and disbanded in 1975.  Members sponsored annual banquets where speakers from different walks of life discussed what women could do with their lives.

Organization Note

Every female student at Gustavus was automatically a member of the Association of Women Students, and it was up to the individual student to determine how much they wanted to participate.  The AWS sponsored annual banquets that would have speakers from different walks of life to give women at Gustavus an idea of what they could do with their lives.  They would hold informational days like Career Day to help other female students learn about options for the future.  They also sponsored other school events like St. Lucia Day.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two sections: administrative and events.  It is further organized alphabetically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License