Skip to main content

GACA Collection 156. Tau Mu Tau. Collection of Tau Mu Tau Sorority, 1909-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Tau Mu Tau.  Collection of Tau Mu Tau Sorority, 1909-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 156.  2 Hollinger boxes and 4 flat boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Tau Mu Tau (TMT) sorority collection contains the constitution, membership lists, minutes, invitations, programs, a history, rush materials, photographs, and scrapbooks holding photographs, programs, invitations and other memorabilia.  TMT was founded in 1909 as a literary society and eventually evolved into a social sorority.  Additional materials will be added to the collection when received from the organization.

Historical Note

Tau Mu Tau began in the early 1900s with twelve members.  Like most sororities at Gustavus, they began as more of a literary society and evolved eventually into having a more social focus.  The current mission of Tau Mu Tau is to provide an enlightening and enjoyable experience that combines friendship and unity, and integrates the development of values with intellectual and social growth. 

*College documentation states Tau Mu Tau began in 1909 while sorority documentation indicates 1904.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four sections: administrative; programs and invitations; photographs and scrapbooks; and miscellaneous.

Administrative is comprised of minutes, the constitution, rush materials, instructions, and a history.

Programs and Invitation is made up of programs and invitations from Tau Mu Tau banquets and parties.

Photographs and Scrapbooks contains photographs and scrapbooks of sorority events and members.

Miscellaneous contains a pennant, c. 1912 and a guest book from the 1994 reunion.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License