Skip to main content

GACA Collection 157. Svea Society. Collection of Svea Förbundet, 1901-1957: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Svea Society. Collection of Svea Förbundet, 1901-1957.  GACA Collection 157.  1 Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Svea Förbundet collection consists of programs, announcements, and minutes from the Svea Society.  The collection also contains the constitution of the Society and membership lists.  Items span from 1901-1957.  There is also a songbook and sheet music from the Svea Chorus.  This collection contains materials in both English and Swedish.

Organization Note

Svea Förbundet was intended as a “cultural society for all those interested in Swedish literature and culture.”  Members participated in discussions of literature, were serenaded in Swedish by different musicians, and sponsored lectures on influential Swedes and Swedish traditions.  Svea Förbundet was reorganized into the Svea Society in 1928 with a cap of thirty members and was bound to the same rules as Greek societies and other language clubs.  Membership was limited to students enrolled in Swedish courses.  The group continued to sponsor literary programs and held debates and political discussions in Swedish.

In 1934, eight members of the Svea Society organized a musical group called the Male Octette.  The purpose was to create a greater enjoyment and appreciation of Swedish folksongs and melodies.  By 1936 the chorus had grown to twelve members and was known as the Svea Chorus.

*Taken from yearbooks.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License