Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 158. Conflict Files between Gustavus Adolphus College and Northern Plains Dairy, 1995-2001: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Conflict Files between Gustavus Adolphus College and Northern Plains Dairy, 1995-2001. GACA Collection 158.  1 Record Center Carton and 2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The conflict files between Gustavus Adolphus College and Northern Plains Dairy includes legal documents, judicial records, environmental assessments, environmental research, and newspaper clippings.  The legal documents and judicial records make up the bulk of the collection.

Historical Note

In 1997, Northern Plains Dairy, a feedlot for 2,500 head of cattle, was proposed to be built in Oshawa Township, within 2.5 miles of the Gustavus Adolphus Campus.  Gustavus did not want the feedlot so close to the campus because they were worried about the impact of odors on the Gustavus community, so they sued the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) stating that more environmental impact studies needed to be completed first.  In 2000 a settlement was reached.  Northern Plains Dairy agreed not to build the dairy at the proposed site, and Gustavus agreed to provide $15,000 for additional expert assistance to the MPCA and Northern Plains Dairy to develop an appropriate application of state-of-the-art animal waste treatment technology.  Northern Plains Dairy built its feedlot 4.5 miles southwest of St. Peter in Oshawa Township, and it includes 3,000 head of cattle and an anaerobic bacteria digester system that combats the odor produced by the feedlot and creates methane gas which is harnessed to power the dairy.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three sections: legal/judicial, environmental, and miscellaneous.  It is further organized alphabetically, then chronologically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License