Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 175. Out of Scandinavia Planning Materials, 1988-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Out of Scandinavia Planning Materials, 1988-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 175.  1 oversize Hollinger box, 1 Hollinger box, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Out of Scandinavia Planning Materials collection contains correspondence, bibliographies, and publicity for this artists-in-residence program at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Materials are mostly in English with the rest in Scandinavian languages.  Presenter files may contain correspondence, bibliographies, biographies, schedules, and various information regarding the presenter and their stay on campus.  This collection is arranged chronologically, then alphabetically.  New materials will be added to this collection when acquired.

Historical Note

The Out of Scandinavia artist-in-residence program at Gustavus Adolphus College is an annual series established to recognize Scandinavian contributions to the general field of the arts. The program is a working collaboration between international studies, the Scandinavian Studies department and the Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library.  In addition to the weeklong visit from the artist, the library will also buy their complete works, either in book or film formats.

List of visitors:

1989: Nils-Aslak Valkeapää (Sami) 2003: Stewe Claeson (Sweden)
1990: Herbjørg Wassmo (Norway) 2004: No visitor
1991: Ulla-Lena Lundberg (Finland) 2005: Jonas Hassen Khemiri (Sweden)
1992: Per Olov Enquist (Sweden) 2006: Arnaldur Indriðason (Iceland)
1993: No visitor 2007: No visitor
1994: Lars Löfgren (Sweden) 2008: Lars Löfgren (Sweden)
1995: Max von Sydow (Sweden) 2009-2011: No visitor
1996: Theodor Kallifatides (Sweden) 2012: Jonas Hassen Khemiri (Sweden)
1997: Einer Kárason (Iceland) 2013: Johanna Sinisalo (Finland)
1998-1999: No visitor 2014: Arne Dahl (Jan Arnald) (Sweden)
2000: Linn Ullmann (Norway) 2015: Asse Berg (Sweden)
2001: No visitor 2016: Sofia Jannok (Sami)
2002: Ylva Eggehorn (Sweden) 2017: Pajtim Statovic (Finland)

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License