Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 182. Student Senate. Collection of the Gustavus Adolphus Student Senate, 1942-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Student Senate. Collection of the Gustavus Adolphus Student Senate, 1942-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 182.  2 Records Center Cartons, ½ Hollinger box, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Senate collection contains minutes, financial information, administrative documents, correspondence, and others materials.  The bulk of the collection is made up of minutes and financial information, such as budget proposals and ledger sheets.  There is also administrative information including constitutions, committee reports and member lists.  The collection also holds correspondence, surveys, questionnaires, and conference information among many other materials.

Organization Note

The Gustavus Adolphus College Student Senate began in 1942.  It was proceeded by The Forum (1919-1942) and before that the Students’ Council (1914-1919.)  According to the first constitution, its object was “to provide a means by which the student body may regulate student activities in conformity with college rules, give occasion for the practice amongst the student body of democratic self-government, and take potent and actual measures toward the elevation of the moral standard among students.”  Over the years, the purpose has changed slightly and now states that “The Senate exists to represent the will of the student body.  The Senate values community and strives to promote communication and collaboration between students, faculty, staff, and administrators while furthering policy interests of the student body.”

Currently membership consists of a Cabinet, Co-Presidents, Co-Presidents Elect, Administrative Director, Technology Director, Parliamentarian, Controller, Public Relations Chair, Finance Chair, Housing & Health Chair, Academic & Student Affairs Chair, Diversity Development Chair, Ombudsperson, Senate Speaker, one Senator from each residence hall (two from Norelius, Complex, and Off-Campus,) one Class Senator from each class, and an International Senator.

*Information obtains from collection.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into five sections: Minutes, Financial, Administrative, Correspondence and Miscellaneous.

Administrative contains committee reports, constitutions, member lists, and appointment calendars, arranged alphabetically.

Correspondence holds correspondence to and from the Student Senate, arranged chronologically by year.

Financial is made up of budget proposals, budget requests, ledgers sheets, and Budget and Appropriation Committee reports, arranged chronologically.

Minutes contains minutes of the Student Senate, arranged chronologically, with some gaps.  Also included are recording of the meeting, when available.

Miscellaneous includes surveys, questionnaires, outside committee reports, and conference information, among others, arranged alphabetically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License