Skip to main content

GACA Collection 183. Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College. Records of the Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College, 1942-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College.  Records of the Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College, 1942-Ongoing. GACA Collection 183.  14 Records Center Cartons.

ABSTRACT:
The Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College collection contains mostly minutes from the annual Board of Trustees meetings and different committees and task forces.  Also included are financial materials such as audit reports. Starting in the early-1980s the annual meetings began to contain information packets.  These included not only minutes of the Board meeting, but also the minutes of the different committees along with some related materials.  The Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College officially began on 25 May 1942.  Previously the governing body of the college was known as the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four series: Committee and Task Forces; Financial; Minutes and Board Packets; and Miscellaneous.

Committees and Task Forces, 1942-Ongoing holds the minutes and related materials of various committees and task forces.  This series is divided into sub-series alphabetically by committee name, then chronologically.

Financial, 1944-1992 consists mostly of audit reports from the 1940s to 1990s.  Also included are some early financial records.  This series is arranged alphabetically by record type.

Minutes and Board Packet, 1942-Ongoing has the minutes and packets from annual and special Board of Trustees meetings arranged chronologically.

Miscellaneous, 1943-2007 is comprised of various materials arranged alphabetically.  Included are presentations, surveys, legal advice, and biographical information about the Trustees.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License