Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 189. Johnson, Marian Swanson. Collection of Marian Swanson Johnson, 1926-2006: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Johnson, Marian Swanson.  Collection of Marian Swanson Johnson, 1926-2006.  GACA Collection 189.  1 Hollinger box and 2 flat boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Collection of Marian Swanson Johnson contains four scrapbooks, correspondence, class agent materials, and a few photographs.  Each scrapbook represents one of the four years she spent at Gustavus Adolphus College from 1937 to 1941.  These contain information mostly about school happenings.  She was the Gustavian Weekly editor during her years at Gustavus, and the scrapbooks hold many of her articles along with other articles from the school paper.  Johnson served as Class Agent for the Class of 1941 from 1963-69 and again from 1972-2005.  Class agents were volunteers who acted as a liaison between their class and the College.  Agents wrote class letters and promoted fundraising, and helped organize class reunions and other Gustavus events.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three series: Student Years, Class Agent Years, and Personal.

Student Years, 1937-1941 consists of four scrapbooks representing the four years spent at Gustavus.  Also included is the 1938-39 yearbook and Swanson’s diploma.  The scrapbooks have spiral bindings and pages are beginning to break loose.

Class Agent Years, 1940-2006 encompasses correspondence, fundraising materials, awards, reunion materials, and some photographs from Johnson’s time as the Class of 1941 Class Agent.

Personal, 1926-2002 holds correspondence to and from Marian Johnson, and also some belonging to her husband, Chester “Chet” Johnson.  Some material about Johnson’s work with the Lutheran Church Library Association is also included.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License