Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 210. Department of Political Science. Collection of the Department of Political Science, 1973-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Political Science.  Collection of the Department of Political Science, 1973-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 210.  ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Political Science Department collection consists of typed newsletters and material regarding scholarships and lectures.  Political Science majors and minors were to use the newsletters as a resource for upcoming classes, speakers, and events.  In addition, the publications helped students stay updated on happenings within the department and the politics of the day.

Historical Note

The Gustavus Adolphus College Political Science Department was established in 1969 by Ron Christenson (1969-1978).  Christenson, Don Ostrom (1972-2004), and Norm Walbek (1976-2001) aka the “founding fathers,” started out teaching only seven courses a year.  Originally, the department found home in the basement of Uhler Hall, but moved into the Schafer Fine Arts Building during the early 1970s.  The Political Science Department currently resides on the second floor of Old Main.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License